A TWO-DAY IN-HOUSE WORKSHOP ON

"Electrical Power Systems" (Online mode)

December 17 – December 18, 2021.

Chief Patrons

Prof.Dr. K.C.Reddy, Chancellor,RGUKT

Prof .Dr. K Hemachandra Reddy, Vice-Chancellor, RGUKT Mrs.Samrajya Lakshmi Registrar(i/c), RGUKT

Patrons

Prof. Dr.G.V.R.Srinivasa Rao,
Director, RGUKT, Nuzvid
Mrs. Sravani Duvvuri,
Dean Academic(i/c)
Dr. Bhanu Kiran,
A O, RGUKT, Nuzvid
Convener

Sri. Madhu sudhana Rao B HoD(i/c) EEE Dept.

Coordinator

Dr. Jyothilal Nayak Bharothu Faculty of EEE Dept.

Organized by

Department of Electrical and Electronics Engineering



Rajiv Gandhi University of Knowledge, Technologies-AP, Nuzvid

ABOUT INSTITUTION

- The idea to create RGUKT germinated in April 2007, at a meeting between Prof. D. Raj Reddy and Prof. K.C. Reddy who then took idea to the then Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh, Dr. Y.S. Rajashekar Reddy. Dr. YSR by then was not happy with the opportunities available to the rural youth and wanted to start a university modeled on IIIT to exclusively concentrate on rural youth in imparting technology oriented higher education for bettering their employment potential
- A Task Force was created under the Chairmanship of Prof. K.C. Reddy, the then chairman APSCHE which recommended for establishing a technological University to benefit rural youth.
- In March of 2008, the AP Government created RGUKT with three campuses through an Act of the Legislature as a full-fledged university which would initially admit approximately the top 1% of the rural students into the three residential campuses located at RK Valley, Basara and Nuzvid.

- The first batch of about 6,500 tenth class graduates was admitted into the six year integrated B.Tech program in August of 2008. The initial selection was based on the 'Mandal Best' model wherein students securing the top marks in SSC examination in every mandal were selected.
- Prof. Raj Reddy as the founding Chancellor of the University for a decade guided the educational philosophy of the University and also molded the academic journey to maintain its uniqueness.

ABOUT DEPARTMENT

The department & ELECTRONICS ELECTRICAL **ENGINEERING** was established in the Academic year 2020-21 & is equipped with high experienced teachers in the field of pedagogy and industrial applications. Our laboratories are facilitated with modern instruments and other electrical equipment. To cater the day-to-day technological hunger of our students; and the facilities are also available, for research work in the field of power electronics and power system engineering, in our laboratories.

ABOUT WORKSHOP

Nowadays, the power demand of various loads is higher than the power generation and hence it leads to power shortage. The increased power demand is not met by the conventional energy sources alone due to continuous depletion of the conventional energy sources. Moreover, the conventional energy sources produce pollution, environmental effect and ozone deflection. In view of this, there is a need for power generation through renewable energy resources in a large scale and aroused due to its huge availability and pollution free operation.

In the current era, computational intelligence and optimization techniques have been employed in various applications of solar and wind energy systems for maximum power extraction.

This workshop is aimed to provide an excellent platform for an in-depth discussion and interaction on advanced control techniques used for generation of electrical power by using both conventional and nonconventional energy sources.

OBJECTIVES OF WORKSHOP

- To provide knowledge on overview of power system and present power scenario in India
- To provide knowledge on power generation by using Conventional energy sources
- To provide knowledge on power generation by using Non-Conventional energy sources
- To share real time experiences and practices of Industrial expert of Power generating sector.

Advisory Committee members

Sri J Chakravarthi,Asst.Prof,EEE Sri N Ratnakar, Asst.Prof,EEE Smt V Shravani Kanaka Kumari Sri P Krishna, Asst.Prof,EEE Smt K Lavanya, Asst.Prof,EEE

PROGRAMME SCHEDULE:

Day-1

Inauguration: 10.00 AM

Session 1 10.30 AM to 12.00Noon Session 2 2.00 PM to 3.30 PM

Day-2

Session 1 10.30 AM to 12.00 Noon Session 2 2.00 PM to 3.30 PM

Valedictory: 3.30 PM

RESOURCE PERSONS



Dr. Dwarakadas Prahladadas Kothari Former Director & Professor of IIT-D



Dr. Vignesh V,
Faculty of Electrical Engineering, IIT-T



Dr. Gowtham Kumar N, Faculty of NFSC, Nagpur, Ministry of Home Affairs



Er. Prathap Swarnala,
AEE, Vidyut Soudha, APGENCO, VJD.